

_AMATION

ELECTION FOR PRESIDENT AND VICE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 5, 2024

WHEREAS:

The Electoral Code of Puerto Rico of 2020, Act No. 58 of June 20, 2020, hereinafter "Electoral Code", in its Article 9.1, states that a General Election will be held every four (4) years on the Tuesday after the first Monday of November. The General Election will occur on Tuesday, November 5, 2024, for the current electoral cycle.

WHEREAS:

The Electoral Code furthermore states that any citizen of the United States of America who is living in Puerto Rico and is at least eighteen (18) years old on the day of the vote and is duly qualified as an active voter before the election according to the law and its regulations, and has not been deemed mentally incapacitated by a court of law, is eligible to vote in Puerto Rico.

WHEREAS:

The Electoral Code states in Article 8.1.b that "the holding of a Presidential Election and the exercise of the right to vote for President constitute a matter of public interest related to our U.S. citizenship and to the current expression of self-determination of the people of Puerto Rico, as sovereign in our democratic system, rejecting the colonial subordination status and claiming equal rights and obligations as U.S. citizens."

THEREFORE:

The Alternate Chair of the State Elections Commission, in the exercise granted by Section 8.1.b of the Election Code, hereby proclaims as follows:

- a) It is directed that, under the civil and fundamental rights protected under the First Amendment of the Constitution of the United States of America, on the day of each General Election, starting from the 2024 General Election, every U.S. citizen who is an active voter in Puerto Rico shall have the opportunity to vote and express their preference among the candidates for President and Vice President of the United States of America.
- b) The voting process shall be conducted through the open polling system from nine (9:00) in the morning until five (5:00) in the afternoon.
- c) According to the Electoral Code, you can use the Commission's Electoral Identification Card for electoral transactions and voting, and its digital version. Additionally, you can use valid identification cards with photos such as those issued under the Real ID Act of 2005, U.S. Passport, U.S. Global Entry, U.S. Armed Forces and U.S. Merchant Marine

Identification Cards, and driver's license issued by the Puerto Rico Department of Transportation and Public Works (DTOP), and its digital version.

d) As required by Article 8.10.b of the Electoral Code, below is the list of candidates for President and Vice President of the United States of America, identified by their respective National Parties:



Republican Party

President – Donald J. Trump | Vice-President – James D. Vance



Democratic Party

President - Kamala D. Harris | Vice-Presdient - Timothy (Tim) Walz

e) The instructions for voting on the presidential ballot, identified with the color "violet", are as follows:

Please note that on this ballot, you have the right to vote for a maximum of one (1) combined candidate for president and vice president. To vote for the combined candidate, make a single Valid Mark inside the blank rectangle under the emblem of the political party of your preference, and do not make any more marks on the ballot. With that single mark, the presidential and vice-presidential candidates within the same emblem column will receive your vote. You will also be able to vote for two persons other than those who appear as candidates for president and vice president in the write-in column.

- f) Article 12.4 of the Electoral Code provides that no public or private employer may prevent its employees from exercising their right to vote in an election, provided they are qualified.
- g) Under Article 12.22 of the Electoral Code, the "Dry Law" shall apply only from 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Tuesday, November 5, 2024. The establishments listed in the same Article are exempted from the preceding provision.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, this Proclamation is issued, and the Seal of the Commission is hereunto affixed, in San Juan, Puerto Rico, this 3rd day of September 2024.

> Hon. Jessika D. Padilla Rivera Alternate Chair

ceepuertorico



